Anniversary Weekend in Big Bear

Sorry it’s been a few days since I last posted. It was our anniversary and we got out of the city and away from technology.

Our weekend in Big Bear started out wonderfully. We rented a one bedroom cabin on the lake with a full kitchen, jacuzzi tub, and wood burning fireplace. It was just what we needed for a romantic weekend away to celebrate our 6 year anniversary. On Saturday morning, we woke up around 6am and dropped the pup off with a sitter so we could hit the slopes. It was my first time snowboarding but I was excited! I got signed up for a morning lesson and my guy went off for two hours on his own.

In our lesson, we learned how to stand up, do a “falling leaf” -coasting down the hill back and forth from left to right, and stop the board. Unfortunately, right after my lesson ended I broke my left wrist trying to show off my new moves. After hitting up the first aid station and urgent care, it was determined my wrist was broken and that I would “probably” need surgery. We spent the rest of the night in front of the fire, and soaking in our jacuzzi tub. Although I was prescribed Vicodin, we decided to drink a couple of beers (and a bottle of Champagne that Dave surprised me with instead!) I felt pretty good. Our anniversary was not ruined.

Upon arriving back in LA yesterday, we hit up an ER in Santa Monica and met with an orthopedic surgeon who opened me up and inserted pins, plates, and transplant bone fragments. He said it was shattered in about 4 places. Way to go, Sarah!

Needless to say, I didn’t snap many pictures with my broken wrist, but here are a few. The rest of the beauty is saved internally and I’ll take more pictures next time. Yes, I’ll try again! It was really fun!

DSC_0005

DSC_0010

DSC_0016

DSC_0022

DSC_0027

DSC_0036

2 thoughts on “Anniversary Weekend in Big Bear

Leave a Reply

